{you might be a redneck if…}

…..you have a garden in your bathtub!  Yes, really…a GARDEN in the bathtub!

Have you ever grown a vegetable garden?  I’ve always wanted to, but in the past when my husband and I have thought about growing one it was a little too late in the season to actually get a good garden growing.  Well, I like to think that we’re on top of things this year because I’ve been working on our first garden for over a month now…in our bathtub.  Why the bathtub you ask?  Well, the seed packets said to grow indoors, in a warm environment with some sunlight.  I figured where better than the bathtub?  You see, we don’t use it all that often, it does stay fairly warm in the bathroom (especially after two or more showers a day), and there is a window right above the bathtub that can let in some sunlight.  It really has been the perfect spot!

So we went to Lowe’s and bought a ton of vegetable seeds and some small, biodegradable, seed starter pods that eventually can all just be planted in the soil together (how easy is that?!).  I don’t have receipts, but if I had to guess we spent maybe $30 on all the seeds and the starter pods (we already had the soil on hand).

About half of the seeds we purchased suggested to grow indoors about 6-8 weeks before planting outside.  Therefore, my master bathtub is now home to this…

Pictures 1 and 2 show my little seeds on day one, freshly planted in their biodegradable pods.  I water them sparingly (and by sparingly, I mean maybe once a week, and hardly anything at all).  Within about a week, I had pictures 3 and 4.  Broccoli grows FAST!  It’s so long now that it actually flops over.  We’ve had a very warm winter in Georgia this year (now that I say that we’ll probably get snow next week).

My husband and I are looking forward to setting up our first vegetable garden on the side of our house this spring and hoping to enjoy lots of fresh, homegrown vegetables throughout the summer!  I definitely promise to share the gardening experience with all of you.  I have a question for all you green thumbs out there though…any tips?!

This entry was posted in Inexpensive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

