{spicy chicken rigatoni}

I’ve got one word for you to describe this recipe…D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S!  It’s another Pinterest inspired recipe, originally posted here on Tastebook.  Since making it a few weeks ago, I’ve already made it several times.  It calls for sliced chicken, but I’ve been pairing it with some homemade chicken meatballs (I’ll write about that recipe another time), some yummy crusty bread, and a nice tall glass of Merlot :).  Here’s the cast of characters:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 T crushed red pepper
  • 1/8 t salt
  • 1/8 t ground black pepper
  • 1 T chopped garlic
  • 6 oz chicken, sliced (I used chicken meatballs instead)
  • 3/4 cup. Marinara sauce (You could even use a homemade marinara sauce if you’ve got some in the freezer)
  • 1/2 cup Alfredo sauce
  • 2 t butter
  • 1/4 cup peas
  • 1 lb Rigatoni pasta, cooked according to package directions
  • additional 1/2 t crushed red pepper (for garnish)

While you make the sauce, you should be boiling water to cook your rigatoni pasta according to package directions!  In a pan, heat your olive oil.  Add to it the crushed red pepper, salt, black pepper, and garlic and saute just long enough for the garlic to caramelize and the red pepper to release flavor into the olive oil.  I’m not one to measure out amounts of spices and oil…just add what you think looks right, trust me, you don’t need to wash all those measuring cups and spoons!  You’ll thank me later!  This is where you would add your sliced chicken if you plan to use it.  Coat the chicken with the spices before moving on to the next step…

Add the marinara sauce to the pan first, followed by the alfredo sauce.  Bring to a simmer.  Cook until the sauce thickens slightly and the chicken has reached an internal temperature of 165.

Turn off the flame and add the butter and peas.  Stir both ingredients into the sauce until the butter melts and the peas don’t look frozen anymore (no one likes to eat frozen peas)!

Toss in your cooked rigatoni pasta then place the pasta and sauce in a pasta bowl.  Reserve most of the chicken to be placed on top of the pasta.  Garnish with crushed red pepper and serve!

This sauce is seriously amazing!  I would eat it just on top of grilled chicken too.  I haven’t tried freezing it (usually there is not a lot left over as the recipe only actually makes enough for 2-4 people depending on portion sizes).  My husband and I typically have enough leftover for one of us to enjoy it for lunch the next day!  It reheats beautifully too!  I think the butter helps that process 🙂

Please let me know if you try this!  I promise you’ll make it a ton.  It’s totally healthy for you…it has peas in it! 🙂


This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to {spicy chicken rigatoni}

  1. Vanessa says:

    This looks yummy!!!

  2. It is SO good…you’ll love it! 🙂

  3. Pingback: {on top of spaghetti…} | Wait Til Your Father Gets Home

Leave a comment